Embracing the Seasons for Art… Even if it’s so *** Cold!

Winter Village, 24 x 24" acrylic on board. karen gillis taylor.

Winter Village, 24 x 24″ acrylic on board.detail. karen gillis taylor.

If we are really thinking more deeply about how artists make art, we do have to remember sometimes they go out in less-than-optimal conditions to paint and make their creations. Not that I painted “Winter Village” out in a field across from my favorite ski village here in Colorado. Oh no. (You might know I am a painter of imagination gleaned from real life, dreams and the mind. It’s not so cold, in my studio, either.) But I so love skiing and  miss my more frequent days of traveling up to our mountains more often to enjoy the wonder of it all.

 

So, I am  respecting the artists who have gone out there in the freezing cold, the rain, the wind, the quickly changing light, and have overcome all that to make a painting. I’ve had a taste of plein air painting, and I know the challenges. My salute to to the plein air painters!

 

My engineer and snow boarding son-in-law Spencer said of this painting, “I think that must be what heaven looks like.” What a wonderful complement, I thought. I would like all of my paintings to look like Heaven. But I have been on a mountain slope when the sun is going down, or in a small village, or even out or own back yard and seen a sky that will never look like that sky again. That is one reason why we paint or make art. We cannot duplicate that beauty we have fleetingly witnessed. We can just make something that expresses the love for what we have seen.

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 Responses to “Embracing the Seasons for Art… Even if it’s so *** Cold!”

  1. Leslie Ann Clark Says:

    Beautifully put!

    Like

  2. Janet Ledoux Says:

    lovely sentiment and art!

    Like

Leave a Reply

