Color is Therapy!

Radiant Flower lesson, acrylic, Creative Color with Acrylics class, coming soon, KGTaylor

Radiant Flower lesson, acrylic, Creative Color with Acrylics class, coming soon, KGTaylor

I have a very unscientific theory that working with color, (certain ones) is uplifting to the soul, mental attitude, and can even be slightly addicting. Painter Philip Guston said that “painting is something I need to have again and again.”

It’s just that working with color just makes me happy. At first I realized that if I wasn’t painting for a few days, getting cranky, I thought it was because I needed painting in my everyday life. But now I think I need color in my everyday life!

Do you ever go to an art show and find yourself drawn to paintings that are exhibiting colors you love? Like a moth to a flame. That’s me. Then I get itching to go home and paint. Color is catching!

Beginning student painting from my class

Beginning student painting from my class

Check out this painting from a student in my class last week. This painter had never ever painted in her entire life! Not even in grade school. It has a fresh, primitive quality, and it is a “grabber” because of it’s color choices. It makes me happy just to let my eye wander about this active forest of color!

Do you think spending time with color can be a mood changer? It would be interesting to find a brain scientist who could tell me more about this!

Meanwhile, I’ll just try to paint more often!

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

