Mountain Valley Color Final Painting

Mountain Valley Color, oil on panel, 36 x 36

Mountain Valley Color, oil on panel, 36 x 36″, Karen Gillis Taylor

I’d like to show you the final painting of Mountain Valley Color, since my last post included a preliminary color sketch. The shift back to oils has been a good one for me, having spent several years mainly painting in acrylics. My stint with acrylics actually prepared me for better success with oils.

I had been working with thin layers in acrylics, building up until the final finish. Now I have a more direct approach in laying down one layer of the highly opaque oil paint, blending as I go while the paint is still wet. I live in a dry climate, so there is no waiting for a section to dry. With this size painting, by the time I finish one section I can go back and modify others.

There is an ongoing comparison of the two kinds of paint, and each has its merits. I encourage folks to be adventurous and try out each. Discovery is a great teacher.

Mountain Valley Color, New sketch for oil painting, Colored pencil and ink, Karen Gillis Taylor

Mountain Valley Color, New sketch for oil painting, Colored pencil and ink, Karen Gillis Taylor

Tags: , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Mountain Valley Color Final Painting”

  1. Caroline Jobe Says:

    thank you for sharing your beautiful work with us in cyberspace, very inspiring

    Like

  2. EADS, KIMBERLY L Says:

    Thanks for the color pencil drawing. I would like to know more about that process if you can ever write on that.

    Like

  3. shawnthompsonart Says:

    I really like this painting, your drawing is so much different than the painting.

    Like

    • Karen Says:

      Oh yes, my beginning drawings are very different than the final painting. This drawing used colored pencils. Just to get color ideas going. Then I can have a plan to work from, which helps me when the final painting is this large, 36″ square. I like to plan, most often. Especially having a color plan is more important for me than the actual composition, which could change. Thanks for your responses, Shawn!

      Like

Leave a Reply

