The Freedom Feeling

"Paris One", 24 x 30", acrylic, Karen Gillis Taylor

“Paris One”, 24 x 30″, acrylic, Karen Gillis Taylor

Today’s commentary in the Robert and Sarah Genn newsletter talks about what I call the “freedom feeling” we experience when we paint. Robert equates it to feeling almost as if we are on a holiday. Finding a motif or series one is comfortable with is a true blessing. It paves the way to painting with a confidence that allows a person to create whatever they feel like creating.

I love imagining cities. Yet, I agree with what Robert said, “it’s not about the subject matter.” That choice made, it becomes just an excuse to paint, he says. His enjoyment of the process is clear.

For me, that enjoyment is not only of manipulating paint as it flows onto the surface, but to discover how colors react when placed next to others. It’s a constant unfolding of experiments and adjustments. Some results look wrong, so I remix and paint over and “voila”, there is that “Yes!” moment. The effect I was searching for is working. Even better are the surprises that come when I allow myself to try new things. Freedom feels good.

P.S.

Moving on today to a new piece. Day after “Paris One.” Continuing with my 30 Paintings in 30 Days challenge. This one is an 8 x 10″ acrylic in the spirit of The “Underwater Garden” of a few days ago:

https://karengillistaylor.wordpress.com/2015/01/page/3/

Thanks for reading.

-Karen

"Underwater Garden 2", 8 x 10" acrylic, Karen Gillis Taylor

“Underwater Garden 2″, 8 x 10” acrylic, Karen Gillis Taylor

"Underwater Garden 2", detail. Click for larger view.

“Underwater Garden 2”, detail. Click for larger view.

"Paris One", detail. Click to enlarge view.

“Paris One”, detail. Click to enlarge view.

Tags: , , , ,

6 Responses to “The Freedom Feeling”

  1. Leslie Ann Clark Says:

    interesting comment about how its not the content that counts. Recently I worked on a puzzle. 1000 Pieces! My daughter came to help me. She told me that she never assembles a puzzle by what is in the picture. Only by color. Interesting. I started to follow her example and the puzzle went together faster. I love your flow of color. Sometimes it a surprise color, like the light blue trees on the orange background with a splash of pink nearby. Lovely!!!!!

    Like

    • karen Says:

      Yes, I thought Robert’s comment was interesting too. He was quite a prolific painter. Maybe after a person paints for so long, design and composition, color and process becomes more important than the actual subject that person is painting. I tend to believe that myself, to an extent. Next time I work a puzzle, I will remember your comment, it’s a good one! Thanks Les!

      Like

  2. Rolina Says:

    I love this – the colours and shapes are perfectly balanced. Roberts ideas and yours are exactly what I have been thinking about myself.

    Like

  3. Gabriela LeBaron Says:

    I love your city scapes!

    Like

Leave a Reply

