6 Tips for Painting Inspiration

BrushesWe all have days when the creative urge needs a boost. Here are 6 things I do to get the painting inspiration flowing again.

1. Take photos while riding a bike, walking or from a vacation balcony. I save them in iPhoto and review now and then, printing out a good one, and sometimes modifying in Photoshop by cropping, adding other color, etc.

"Cabo Sunrise", digital photography and colors added, KGT

“Cabo Sunrise”, digital photography and colors added, KGT

 

2. Drawing is huge for me. I mostly paint from imagination lately, and a simple little sketch of about 3 x 4” is enough to give me ideas for a painting start. I save my sketchbooks and sometimes find a sketch done earlier, which then jumps out and me to paint.

coastal-city-drawing

 

3. Color ideas are very important for me, and can come from anywhere. Besides magazine photos, I search museum shops which have all kinds of inspiring things to buy. Postcards, calendars, small woven items from South America with gorgeous color, fabric swatches and catalogues with lovely and unusual items are just a few. They go into a box and are exciting to review now and then.

Some of my saved color inspirations

Some of my saved color inspirations. Click for larger view.

 

4. Visits to galleries and art museums always give me a lift, simply filling up my soul with a desire to paint. Appreciating the art of others is one thing that got me into painting long ago. Even a visit to this outdoor museum park in Cozumel was very inspiring. The huge models of real places in Mexico were wonderful to behold.

Discover Mexico architectural model, Cozumel park, Mexico

Discover Mexico architectural model, Cozumel park, Mexico

How about a trip to Italy, anyone? Maybe some day I can revisit the great museums of Europe, or at least have fun searching them out on the Internet.

The Libyan Sibyl, Sistine Chapel, Vatican, by Michelanglo Buonarroti, 1508-12

The Libyan Sibyl, Sistine Chapel, Vatican, by Michelangelo Buonarroti, 1508-12

 

5. A trip to the art or craft store usually ends with me buying a new item to try out in the studio, maybe just new tube of paint I haven’t tried. New tools for getting different textures seem to be popping up everywhere. One of my favorite stores in Denver is about 45 minutes from home, and worth the trip! I work in some side trips for sights around the city.

My favorite building in downtown Denver.

My favorite building in downtown Denver.

Blue Bear Sculpture, Lawrence Agent, 2005, Denver Convention Center

Blue Bear Sculpture, Lawrence Agent, 2005, Denver Convention Center

6. Establishing a clear goal and deadline that holds me accountable is great inspiration to paint. The 2014 September 30 in 30 Challenge spawned several paintings I’m still putting up on my website and Etsy shop here in December!

Sunny City, working title, 14 x 18", Acrylic on Board, KGT

Sunny City, working title from September Challenge, 14 x 18″, Acrylic on Board, KGT. Click for larger view.

Good luck to the art makers out there!

Karen

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “6 Tips for Painting Inspiration”

  1. Sherry Galey Says:

    I love your style and colour palette. Happy New Year to you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

