Leaping into Fall Colors and Oil Painting

"Early Fall Inspiration", oil on board, 11 x 14", Karen Gillis Taylor, 2014

“Early Fall Inspiration”, oil on board, 11 x 14″, Karen Gillis Taylor, 2014

Fall color is deep, earthy, and maybe my most favorite season for the depth of possibilities for a painter like me who loves the broad spectrum. Oils are the perfect choice for this palette for day 25 of my 30 Paintings in 30 Days challenge work. My painting of the previous post, “This One For Love”, Acrylic, is light and airy. A very different contrast between these 2 paintings.

Early fall painting base step,  with Liquin and oil color

Early fall painting base step, with Liquin and oil color

The toning of my painting was an important step for me, design-wise. I planned my values from the beginning. Step one was to create the base toned layer. I then made a drawing of the floral shapes to be placed over the top in the second layer. I used a foam paint roller, about 2 inches wide, for the rolling on of the textured colors.

 

My final step for the base painting was to find a different textured brush. I confess, I hate washing brushes and love using foam brushes that are easier to wash or eventually discard. My answer today came from my garden…

My lavender brush

My lavender brush

It’s a brush made of a lavender plant snipping from my garden. If you look closely in the above base painting image, you can see where I added the lavender texture from my improvised brush. (The color choice is purely coincidental to the painting plan)

"Early Fall" pencil sketch

“Early Fall” pencil sketch

 

Then next step was incising the drawing plan for the top layer blooms into the still-wet base layer. I scratched in the drawing with my palette knife, and vowed to keep some of the light lines in the last painting. They are there.

Incising a drawing into the base layer with a palette knife

Incising a drawing into the base layer with a palette knife

Once I had my basic shapes for layer 2 laid out, I could make the final layer of shapes to add on top.  I already pre-mixed my oil colors. I used a previous fall color palette I loved. (See September 24 ad 22 from this blog.)

I always love to hear responses from our readers. It’s all about inspiring one another, isn’t it?

Early-Fall-Floral-9_25Thanks for reading.

-karen

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

