Where do abstract painting ideas originate?

Abstract House in Woods, Acrylic, 24 x 30", Karen Gillis Taylor, 2014

Abstract House in Woods, Acrylic, 24 x 30″, Karen Gillis Taylor, 2014

I get my painting ideas from many places, and here’s how this one developed. I created a color palette for a previous painting, and saved the paint swatches from a small 4 x 6″ page, which I often do. After all, if a person takes the time to mix paints and find a good combination that resonates, why throw it away?

My palette of color swatches for inspiration

My palette of color swatches for inspiration, 3″ x 4″, acrylic on paper

Many times when I see shapes and colors on a page, I begin to see images that look like a landscape, a cityscape, or some other thing I can paint, while preserving the mystery of abstraction steps away from realism. That’s what happened here.

This painting is still in progress, but far enough along to show for the 30 in 30 Painting Challenge I am participating in this month. I’ve said before, I am not a fast painter, but I can make a fast start and come back later to finish. I can see now that I don’t want to lose the freshness of the quick brush strokes in the original small color palette. Some broad strokes and fresh, pure colors will be added soon.

So that’s my plan, can’t wait to finish this one!

painting detail

painting detail

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Where do abstract painting ideas originate?”

  1. Kathy Elliott Says:

    I love your composition and your colors!!! Great way to use your palette!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

