Day 3 Painting Challenge: Textures!

"Best Day Ever", acrylic, 24 x 24", Karen Gillis Taylor

“Best Day Ever”, acrylic, 24 x 24″, Karen Gillis Taylor. $1900.00. Click for larger view.

This painting was a joy to paint for me, start to finish. (Not always the case, as in my last post of September 2.) I wanted plenty of texture  from the start, so I initiated my previously unused sea sponge, and really liked the effect.

The story behind the painting’s name comes from my friend Tracee, who I worked with at McCall’s Quilting Magazine as graphic designers. That was her signature expression, and it just fits this painting.

End of work day last night, 2 buddies on easels.

End of work day last night, 2 buddies on easels.

Once   I’ll make 2 paintings at the same time, especially if the colors are similar. A mini sponge roller provided a more subtle texture than the sea sponge. Applying paint with a palette knife also worked well for another texture.

Have your best day ever!

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Day 3 Painting Challenge: Textures!”

  1. bobbie Says:

    Beautiful colors, nice design

    Like

Leave a Reply

