Day 2 Painting Challenge… Experimenting!

"Summer Woods", acrylic on canvas, 12 x 16", Karen Gillis Taylor, 2014

“Summer Woods”, acrylic on canvas, 12 x 16″, Karen Gillis Taylor, 2014

This month of painting 30 paintings means I’ll be doing lots of experimenting. Kind of like when a person decides to change up the exercise routine and try new sports. (Should I “ask my Doctor when beginning any new activity”, like the commercials always say?) Wink wink.

I grabbed a spray bottle and started painting at the top of the canvas, alternating between dabbing paint on with a fat brush and spraying it to let it drip. If it sounds messy, it is! I liked the top of the painting but was not happy with the lower half at all. In fact I hated it. So I mixed up a lot of yellow/green paint in a heavy consistency and painted right over that lower “mess.” The dark woods now have parted to become an open meadow with sunlight pouring in. Sigh of relief.

Sometimes a crucial part of painting is “fixing things”. That new green surface was a boost I needed to get back in the game and go again. And I didn’t have to call my Doctor. The new exercise routine is going to work out just fine.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Day 2 Painting Challenge… Experimenting!”

  1. Leslie Ann Clark Says:

    Lovely! I want to go there. In fact. I want to live in all your paintings!

    Like

Leave a Reply

