A New Painting Challenge for September… What is your passionate challenge?

"River Town", 9 x 12" acrylic painting on wood panel, Karen Gillis Taylor, 2014

“River Town”, 9 x 12″ acrylic painting on wood panel, Karen Gillis Taylor, 2014. Click for larger view. See this painting in my Etsy shop called ShimmerTown. (Click on that in right column for info). $475.00

“Back in the saddle again”, is a favorite expression of mine. I am back doing something I love to do, making paintings in my studio, full-time, as of the end of July! My theme for this “30 Paintings in 30 Days” challenge is “Permission to Imagine.” That means my new 30 paintings of the next month of September will be based on things I create from my mind’s eye. So, here we go! That “still small voice” is telling me to enjoy the work you were meant to do, and good things will follow.

I just came out of a high pressure job as a graphic designer for a quilting magazine, working 8 hours a day and driving an hour each way to get there. Now I’m back to working in my studio, as my own boss, as I have done for most of my working life.

Transitions take time, but the good news is that once you get going on a project you love to do, it becomes very absorbing and focused.

Do you have something you love to do in your life? What is your favorite passion? I think we all have something, and probably several! I also love cooking and bringing herbs in from the garden that smell so fragrant, for my new dinner dish. Life is about so many things we can enjoy and nurture.

How much time out of your day is devoted to what you really love to do? For me when I was working at my last magazine job as graphic designer, I had to squeeze in the late night hours to make time for painting. My co-workers who were editing the magazine by day, came home and sewed gorgeous quilts on evenings and weekends. That was (and still is) their passion. Like I said, we all have something that we can put our energies into creating. Share yours in the comments below, please!

Thanks for reading, and please check back in to see new paintings for this challenge I’ve got myself committed to do! Yikes!

-Karen

“…that every man should eat and drink, and enjoy good in all his labor, is the gift of God.”

Ecclesiastes 3:13

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

