The moon in my coffee… where do ideas for art begin?

"The Moon Inside My Cup", photo, KGTaylor

“The Moon Inside My Cup”, photo, KGTaylor

I set my coffee down today,

The Sun had just come up,

He cast his glow and lo, he made

A Moon inside my cup!

There are some images only a photograph can portray best. I enjoy how photography can help me discover things, and then it sets my mind going on to another creative place. It is my medium for inspiration and appreciation of our world, large and very small.

If I were to portray this image as a painter, I wouldn’t be inclined to reproduce it as a photo realist painter would do. Those days are long gone for me. Now that I paint from imagination I made a sketch to see how I could interpret this idea.

"Moon in a Cup" drawing, ink and Photoshop tints, KGT

“Moon in a Cup” drawing, ink and Photoshop tints, KGT

Now I can take this somewhere in paint. A plan is already simmering. Acrylic? Watercolor? Mixed media, perhaps.

I found a drawing and a mixed media piece to show, both done awhile back. Moons and windows are interesting to me, as they seem to represent things that intrigue people, things a poem might begin to explore beyond the obvious. (Hopefully a poem a little “deeper” than my little verse!)

Sketchbook images with window and table on left, KGT

Sketchbook images with window and table on left, KGT

Sometimes it’s better not to try to explain visual things, especially drawings in a sketchbook that are beginnings of ideas. (The drawing on the right, above, was about finding heart shapes in nature, and that was another day.)

"Fish and Moon," Mixed media with pastel and photoshop, KGT

“Fish and Moon,” Mixed media with pastel and photoshop, KGT

I was thinking about some sketches I made concerning the loaves and fishes in one of the miracles of Christ. One thing led to another… the idea became a painting, “Fish and Moon”. Sometimes themes brew in my mind for years and resurface now and then. And maybe it all begins again one morning over a cup of coffee.

Thanks for reading,

Karen

Tags: , , , , ,

6 Responses to “The moon in my coffee… where do ideas for art begin?”

  1. safelake Says:

    Reblogged this on Lavender Turquois.

    Like

  2. Caroline Jobe Says:

    such a creative exercise! it was great to see where you went with it. very inspiring, thanks

    Like

  3. Helen DeRamus Says:

    The sketchbook and drawing, so valuable.

    Like

Leave a Reply

