Challenges for painters… Keeping up the momentum

"February Landscape", working title, 11" x 14", acrylic, Karen Gillis Taylor, 2014

“February Landscape”, working title, 11″ x 14″, acrylic, Karen Gillis Taylor, 2014, click for larger view

Today I wanted to finish my Orange Reverie painting, but thought I should start this small one so I could just get warmed up first. I made the drawing a few days ago. My other job as a graphic designer for McCalls Quilting/F+W Media kept me so busy this week, I didn’t have the energy to do more than that drawing until today.

So I worked for about ten hours on this painting, not intended but glad I did. At an early point, I realized I couldn’t stop until I resolved where I was going with this image. I was in the “disturbed” phase, knowing I wouldn’t be happy until I moved the painting along, to make it better to match my mind’s eye.

Brushwork

Brushwork, Click to see bigger view

As I worked along, I felt like I was teaching myself about things like patience to keep going, and how the brushwork was becoming more valuable for the piece. Knowing that with acrylic painting, it is all about layers on top of layers. And besides, it was becoming more and more fun! I learn from each painting I make.

Going to bed tired but happy tonight. Sometimes you just have to put in the time at the easel. It’s always worth it for me.

Tags: , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Challenges for painters… Keeping up the momentum”

  1. Leslie Ann Clark Says:

    this painting is so beautiful!!!

    Like

  2. annbibbi Says:

    I am such a fan, Love your work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

