Invincible Summer painting

"Summer Fever", 11 x 14", acrylic, Karen Gillis Taylor, 2014

“Invincible Summer”, 11 x 14″, acrylic, Karen Gillis Taylor, 2014

Painting at night is often best done at my drawing table, with a lot of good lighting there. This one was begun during a snow storm in January. I was feeling Spring Fever like I do every January, but with this painting I think I skipped right over Spring to Summer.

I like painting from imagination because it’s more than just painting things, or subjects. It begins with a tiny sketch, and then grows. I begin to see colors and then draw upon something within me that gives way to expression of thoughts and feelings. In the abstract world, we say a few things, but not too much. We leave things for observers to see for themselves.

Jazz musician Miles Davis said, “Don’t play what’s there, play what’s not there.” My brother Bob Gillis is a jazz musician and composer. I see a connection between jazz and abstract art. We are interpreters of life, not re-creators of reality. When I look at this painting of Summer, I am reminded of not just one Summer, but perhaps many. Are there 3 trees here or one tree in different stages of life? Is this about a Sun or more about sunshine affecting the growing things or gardens I have loved? It could even be just an expression of my hopes for the Summer to come. I would rather not spell it out. Better to leave some things unsaid.

That’s one thing I like about poetry, I get to decide what someone’s poem means to me. I enjoy it though, when a person tells me why they like a certain painting I made. I often just listen. Things like music, art and poetry speak to our souls, and there’s a lot to be gained by listening.

“In the depth of winter I finally learned there was in me an invincible summer.” -Albert Camus

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Invincible Summer painting”

  1. unitedmmcart Says:

    WOW Outstanding painting

    Like

Leave a Reply

