Finding a painting in a piece of a painting

Abstract Landscape Idea, Karen Gillis Taylor, acrylic detail

Abstract Landscape Idea, Karen Gillis Taylor, acrylic detail

Sometimes I do this: take a photo of a painting in progress, then save and move on. Then crop a piece out of this photo, or a piece from a finished painting, and have a new look. My eye is drawn to certain parts of paintings. I think there might be something there I can make anew.

Then I study it, and let my inner mind imagine what it’s telling me. I’m seeing a new landscape coming, very abstract, with maybe a grove of trees on the right that need a little definition. There is something there, I just know it.

I’ll print this one out as a small study and tape it to the easel. Then go!

It’s all about discovering what is already in front of me, I just need to pull it out and give it a chance. I like the colors. It’s a start.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

