How do I begin a new project? Goals for artists on a one day at a time plan…

Plans from my art table to you

Plans from my art table to you

In 2014, I am planning with extreme flexibility, as an artist. In fact, my plan is to truly take one day at a time. Not to worry about anything that happens after the day I have before me. I have the calendar page in front of me, and I can visualize the days and the plans. It’s all soft now. I like to see a good date on the page and think about why that day will be a good event. So let’s go!

With this in mind, I accepted a plan from my gallery to make an exhibit of paintings in May or maybe even April, last I heard. My gallery is figuring things out. Okay, I can do this, I have been painting and have works to show! We’ll negotiate, and figure it all out.

In life, we still have to make a plan, and organize our goals. Personally, I have always liked thinking about plans and goals. I like thinking about what could happen in the future if I dreamed a thought and could see that happen, and then, it does.

Orange light city begins, Jan 2014

Orange light city begins, Jan 2014

Here we go, plunging into 2014 with new hopes, new color ways of thinking, looking for ways to keep open to interesting painting techniques.  I made this new start of a painting. Acrylic washes. My daughter Katie came up to the studio to see it and liked it enough to take a cell phone pic. We both said I should tread softly and add not too many layers to obliterate what is here. Oh the decisions now! I want to sometimes crawl into a sleeping bag and sit this out until spring…

Crashing into 2014 with new ideas in paint. It would be so cool to take this canvas up into the mountains and finish it by a crackling fire with pine smells and bears outside the door. Snow flying.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “How do I begin a new project? Goals for artists on a one day at a time plan…”

  1. nsturgill Says:

    The palate for this is luscious!

    Like

Leave a Reply

