Photoshop helps me finish a painting: Western Bluebird Dream

Western Bluebird Dream, 24 x 24", oil with Photoshop details, Karen Gillis Taylor

Western Bluebird Dream, 24 x 24″, oil with Photoshop details, Karen Gillis Taylor

This painting was unfinished, and I didn’t quite know what was missing, so I put it away for about 8 weeks. Thought about adding white highlights, maybe another bright hue, like orange. But not any huge changes, just some finishing touches.

Last week I was ready to figure this thing out. I took a photo of the painting and brought it into Photoshop to make a few additions and see what it would look like, without actually pulling out the oils to paint right on the work itself.

In Photoshop, you can take an image and add a new layer on top of it, without disturbing the base layer. I added some white leaves trailing down over the bird, and to the left, to add to the bare twig shapes. Small orange blossom shapes helped to add new elements of a small scale for interest and variety, and as a color accent. I darkened the bird’s eye.

Western Bluebird painting, before adding Photoshop changes

Western Bluebird painting, before adding Photoshop changes

This second image shows the painting as it sits on my easel right now. Now I will finish it off, using my new ideas with greater confidence, since I worked it all out in Photoshop first. About an hour session or so.

I have found so many uses for the Photoshop tool over the years. This is just one.

Enjoy art in 2014!

Cheers,

-Karen

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Photoshop helps me finish a painting: Western Bluebird Dream”

  1. annbibbi Says:

    I just love your work! This is a great idea and something that will help me. A great way to make a design choice.

    Like

Leave a Reply

