Your Life in Art for 2014

"Jan Town 2014", detail from 18 x 24" acrylic painting, unfinished, KGTaylor

“Jan Town 2014″, detail from 18 x 24” acrylic painting, unfinished, KGTaylor

What are your plans as an art lover or creative person in 2014? Do you make art, collect it, study it or all of these? Guess that’s me too.

I’m not setting down scary resolutions this year that might be broken. Rather than making New Year’s resolutions, an organic plan is more to my liking.

My Grandpa Bruce was an organic farmer and Presbyterian minister in Iowa and Illinois. We shared letters back and forth when I was in college, and very interested in the “Back to the Earth” movement young people had back then. When I shared my romantic dreams of joining the family farm (long operated by another family tenant) and growing natural foods, Grandpa wrote back to tell me that the life of farming was difficult and hard work. He then sent me many of his Organic Gardening magazines to encourage my interest on the smaller scale. He was into the “organic” life before it was cool. He might say, “plant a seed and see it grow, and have faith that it will become all you have hoped for.” Grandpa Bruce was all about faith.

Planting seeds is much more a thing I will try to create in 2014. Start with a new project, work on it and see it through to the finish, the “harvest time”, when I can feel it’s accomplished. I have a painting exhibit coming in June, and have four paintings done or nearing finish. I need at least 8 more, so that’s 2 a month to be done. I can do this! Better plan for 10, in case a couple of them don’t measure up in time.

There’s more to be done though, for my “seed plans”. I’d like to treat each day more like a farmer would. Go outside early in the morning and size things up. Will the weather cooperate for what needs to be done in the work plan? Am I thankful for my breakfast? Thankful for my equipment, my supplies, my helpers in the job? Will I find laughter and love and surprises in my working day? Will I treat people kindly and say hello in a friendly way? When the day’s work is accomplished, will I be glad to see my family again and talk with them? Will I step out on the porch, and review the day’s happenings and look up to the skies and be thankful once more? Will I have faith I can water my seeds for 2014 and see them come to harvest?

That’s how my relatives lived years ago. Grandpa broke with the farming tradition and sought to study the scriptures and lead his flocks. In his elderly 90s, Grandpa Bruce told me he was (still) a “perpetual student”, always wanting to learn more and more. His favored book back when we were corresponding was “Hebrews”, of the New Testament. The faith book.

“Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.” Hebrews 11:1

So I’m working on growing my faith for goals and for life. In the last 5 years, I have learned to take one day at a time, often because life held so much uncertainty. It taught me it’s actually been a good way to live, mainly for the day at hand. There is a lot of freedom in living one day at a time.

What will your days look like in 2014?

Thanks for reading,

-Karen

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Your Life in Art for 2014”

  1. Nancy Says:

    Your Grandpa would be proud of your small sermon! He sounds like an inspiring man. So was my Grandpa, ordained but not called he went into teaching and engineering. He taught me to see everyone as a potential friend, to be always curious, and to work as hard at avocations as at vocations. I need to be more intentional on how I use my time. This year I need to stop using time as if it were an endless reserve. I need to rid myself of the dross and concentrate on those things that matter.

    Like

    • karen Says:

      Thank goodness for inspiring people like our grandpas! I like what your grandpa taught you, so wise. You’re goals sound very good, Nancy. Happy New Year!

      Like

  2. Judy Broughton Says:

    Happy New Year!
    So good to see your personal goals manifesting already !
    It helps me get started in a gentle way.
    All the news seems to be summing up the difficult highlights of 2013, very few high moments. We all need to work on fortifying our inner resolve to stay centered in this fast paced , seemingly chaotic, erratic world !
    XO Judy

    Like

Leave a Reply

