Watercolor sketches for new paintings and some surprises

November Mansions, 5 x 7", Karen Gillis Taylor, 2013

November Mansions, 5 x 7″, Karen Gillis Taylor, 2013. Click to enlarge.

I have a May 2014 deadline. A show of paintings at Osmosis Gallery in Niwot, Colorado. (Best little art gallery in Boulder County.)

From a very tiny thumbnail sketch came this small color sketch. It will probably evolve into as a possible large painting.

I sketched the drawing onto Arches watercolor paper and drew over the graphite lines with a blue Pilot fine tip pen. That pen bleeds when wet, and that was a good thing for me! Those bleeding lines spilled over to adjoining areas, tinting spaces with washes of various values of blue.  I then added watercolors. I had forgotten I could get rich color and interesting effects with watercolor until this recent discovery. It’s good to revisit media you once knew and dropped to move on. Times change and so do artists. I am keeping an open mind to everything at this stage of life!

The cityscape theme continues to hold my interest. I love the shapes of buildings and streets, the changing light which is sometimes natural, sometimes man-made. I have freedom to create colors and designs of my own design. It opens up a really big creative world for me.

I wonder about people out there who have also rediscovered things in their life. Have you recently revived something from your past you are happy to be rediscovering again? Even something small, but something very special, found anew. These are joys in life we can’t ignore. Who knows what it might lead to?

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

