A walk in the woods with your sister: taking time to dream again

Sister Leslie Ann Clark at Golden Ponds, summer, Longmont, CO

Sister Leslie Ann Clark at Golden Ponds, summer, Longmont, CO. Click to enlarge.

It’s not too soon to begin looking back at 2013 when you take a multitude of photographs for both art inspiration and family times. My 2 sisters, Les and Deb and I have a little running joke about how boring our lives are compared to the lives of other friends and acquaintances. Now that I have looked at the huge bunch of photos in my saved file, I have to take it all back. In the visual side of life, it’s really not boring after all. It’s often beautiful, which is what I always look for. Can’t forget to look around at my world, and appreciate things I sometimes take for granted.

Here’s my sister Leslie Ann, right in the photo, sister Deb is left. Les and I have been art buddies for a very long time. We all want to have a more balanced life. Part of that for me will mean making more time for fun, meeting up with friends, and getting more “down time” to relax and take life less seriously.

Sisters Deb and Les at the Cheese shop, Longmont CO, 2013

Sisters Deb and Les at the Cheese shop, Longmont CO, 2013

My sisters and I have tried to make time for “Sister Days” recently. Our stop at the Longmont Cheese Importers is a favorite now. More destinations? We welcome suggestions for the Denver/Boulder/Fort Collins area!

We artists have our need to make art often and to flex our creative muscles. Entertaining my dreams and new goals is part of that. Some people call it making a “bucket list”. What would you do if there were no time or money constraints on you, so you could do anything or go anywhere? That’s a fun exercise in dreaming I haven’t done enough lately. I’ve been too busy being a “grown up.”

Chasing an Airstream trailer on a road trip too long ago

Chasing an Airstream trailer on a road trip too long ago

What is it about me and Airstreams? Just once I’d like to see if it would be fun to take a trip and take your hotel with you. I would travel around Western America, in the sunny season! New Mexico, Arizona and California for starters, and do a little drawing and painting, and wander through some beautiful National Parks and botanical gardens.

A week in a tropical or Mediterranean place would be just right. Palm trees are a must.

A week in a tropical or Mediterranean place would be just right. Palm trees are a must. Detail from “Seaside Village”, 30 x 30″ acrylic, Karen Gillis Taylor

Since I’m dreaming of travel (it has always been my number one form of inspiration), I’ll just go ahead and dream of  week or two to relax somewhere warm and get off the workaday treadmill. Then I would paint a lot of palm trees and oceans and quaint little villages. If I can’t do this in real life, I can always do the last part. Paint it all!

"You are Beautiful", photo, New Orleans, February 2013

“You are Beautiful”, photo, New Orleans, February 2013. Click to enlarge.

I was a teacher last winter on a McCall’s Quilting Cruise, and this is the sight we saw as our ship pulled into port in New Orleans. Painting messages on buildings is creative! Is it graffiti or something else? I met some really friendly people in New Orleans. Appreciating people is something that enriches life too.

This is just a start of what I hope will be a search for ways to appreciate life, which in turn will fire up the creative juices anew. Every day is a new day, a gift they call “the present.”

Do you have some dreams of your own? What are they?

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

