Drawing is where art begins… fill up the page!

Somehow I got in the habit of filling a page when I work in a sketchbook. Last night found me starting with some Jazz motifs while we listened to a TV show about Wynton Marsalis teaching a group of young musicians. After that, it was random drawings that filled the spaces a little more densely than usual. Then I decided to isolate the ideas and added some gray values with Photoshop to see what would happen.

Detail from 9" x 12" sketchbook page, Karen Gillis Taylor. Most of the page is seen here.

Detail from 9″ x 12″ sketchbook page, Karen Gillis Taylor. Most of the page is seen here. Click images for larger view.

For me the key is, just draw. See what comes out from your hand to the page.

Island landscape? Pen and ink, Strathmore padIsland landscape?

Jazz theme is where it began.

Island landscape? Pen and ink, Strathmore padIsland landscape?

Island landscape? Pen and ink, Strathmore pad

Coffee and peeps. Gray field added with Photoshop.

Coffee and peeps. Gray field added with Photoshop. Look what happened to the books when I poured in the gray with the paint bucket tool. Gives me ideas when I go to make a painting.

Candle trail sketch

Candle trail sketch

I like the contrast of the original paper texture with the newly added flat gray background.

White elephant, just for fun. Actually, the idea to draw him came from the saxaphone shape.

White elephant, just for fun. Actually, the idea to draw him came from the saxaphone shape.

This morning is a studio day and I will be looking through past sketchbooks to see what images pop out. Then the painting will continue. Did I mention that drawing is a good stress release? It’s also entertaining to see what will appear on the page when the pen gets started. I like the island landscape. Maybe a painting will come from that one.

Cheers!

-Karen

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

