Staying organized for painting and photography … Adobe Bridge, calendars and poetic quotes for inspiration

Screen shot detail, Art plans, Karen Gillis Taylor, 2013

Screen shot detail, Art plans, Karen Gillis Taylor, 2013

I use Adobe Bridge almost daily, because I’m one of those “visual types”. I have so many ideas for new paintings all the time, so it helps me keep them in one folder to view all at once. This is a screen shot of one collection of ideas, sketches and inspirations that will help me stay motivated to create my set of new paintings for the next show. (May 2014 is my target date!)

It’s really helpful to be able to see finished paintings and new ideas all at once. I can spot some trends in past work, include other artist’s work that might give me an idea, or even critique my work as to things I’d like to change. (I’m not being paid by Adobe to say these things, believe me. I just like  helpful tools like this. With a busy life going on, I need all the organization I can get!)

When it comes to working with calendars, though, I’m very old school. I printed out several months of basic calendar pages (free online if you look) and I like putting them on a wall or in a notebook so I can count off the weeks until my deadline, write all over them, etc. I really works to keep me on track to get paintings finished.

Do you have any secrets to stay organized in your creative life?

Calendar layout proposal to my publisher, TFC, for City Dreams 2011 calendar

Calendar layout proposal to my publisher, TFC, for City Dreams 2011 calendar

P.S. Speaking of calendars, as a side note, this is my original graphic design for the City Dreams Calendar for 2011, which was published and sold by TFC. (Formerly Time Factory.) They liked most of the design except the lower part of days on the grid was eventually more simplified by them for the end product. I was a little sad about that, because I liked my more complex look, but I’m sure they had their reasons. I love the quote for this month by Wordsworth. (I picked all my own quotes and even wrote a few.”)

“This city doth like a garment wear,

The beauty of the morning; silent, bare,

Ships, towers, domes, theatres and temples lie,

Open unto the fields and to the sky;

All bright and glittering in the smokeless air.”

-William Wordsworth

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Staying organized for painting and photography … Adobe Bridge, calendars and poetic quotes for inspiration”

  1. Ann Webb Says:

    I love your calendars, I have 2 of them (not sure if youhad more). Have you thought self publishing them? Just asking.
    I also love your blog-very inspiring!

    Like

    • karen Says:

      Hi Ann, I only made 2 calendars with TFC, and yes I have looked into self publishing. It is expensive though, but I’d love to do a third one, so I will keep pursuing. I’m so glad you like the blog!

      Like

Leave a Reply

