From underpainting to finished color study… October painting goes on

October Night City 2013, KGT, 8" x 12", acrylic

October Night City 2013, KGT, 8″ x 10″, acrylic

“October Night City” is the small finished study from the underpainting I showed in the last blog. I added some color and new textures. The dark areas became even darker with the addition of another layer.

I knew this would not be a monochrome painting, but also knew I didn’t want to add too much color since I liked the underpainting so much as it was.  Now I can move on to creating this as a large painting. I have a 30″ x 40″ canvas which could be the size for this cityscape.

October Night City horizontal idea, KGTaylor

October Night City horizontal idea, KGTaylor

Above is the second idea, which would mean creating a horizontal painting with a new focal point. Another choice! Should I create the new large painting as a horizontal, such as this? I like this view very much too. Might be a hard decision.

Underpainting for "October City" painting, KGT, 2013

Underpainting for “October City” painting, KGT, 2013

Now you see the original underpainting without added finishing color ideas. There’s a benefit to seeing the stages of one’s painting if you work in layers like I do. Acrylic is a great medium, easy to paint over and change without waiting long for it to dry.

Feel free to tell me if you like the horizontal idea or the vertical one best for the large painting I’ll do next. I welcome your input!

Thanks,

Karen

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

