Postcards from the MOMA… Monet and Cezanne

Agapanthus, Claude Monet, 1914-26, 6' 6" x 70 1/4", oil on canvas

Agapanthus, Claude Monet, 1914-26, 6′ 6″ x 70 1/4″, oil on canvas, click for larger view

My husband RT went on a recent business trip to NYC.

“Text me a picture, please!” I said. He had some free time and was going to go out on the town with his photographer buddy Andy Katz.

Incoming… would it be some cool architecture? Something from a photography show or gallery? Nope, it was this gorgeous Monet painting from his visit to the Museum of Modern Art. This is better than sending me a bouquet from FTP! Then I looked at the size, holy moly. Another of Monet’s really big paintings, like you see when you visit the Water Lilies. How inspiring! Thanks, sweetie.

What image would you snap at the MOMA, or for that matter, any other favorite museum of yours to send to a friend or loved one? I already know, because this Cezanne painting made such a great impression on me.

Turning Road at Montgeroult , Paul Cezanne, 1899, 25 1/2" x 20 1/2", oil on canvas

Turning Road at Montgeroult , Paul Cezanne, 1899, 25 1/2″ x 20 1/2″, oil on canvas

This painting, Turning Road at Montgeroult, just grabbed me the day I got to see it up close at the MOMA. The colors are richer in person. The brushwork is so active and seems to be done “in the moment”, without reservation. I would love to see it again.

What kind of image would you send to a friend if you could send anything, as a favorite one which was personal and impactful to you?

Please share!

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Postcards from the MOMA… Monet and Cezanne”

  1. ashleyquinnstyle Says:

    I LOVE the Monet. What a sweet husband you have!

    Like

  2. Nancy Says:

    I love Cezanne. I would love to return to the Philadelphia Museum of Art. One of my favorites there was Paul Klee’s Fish Magic.

    Like

Leave a Reply

