Pattern in Art is something people need and love!

Unknown Navajo Artist, Poncho, about 1850. Wool and dye. Denver Art Museum

Unknown Navajo Artist, Poncho, about 1850. Wool and dye. Denver Art Museum

This summer of 2013 I MUST see the Denver Art Museum exhibit called Red, White and Bold: Masterworks of Navajo Design, 1840-1870. It’s all about Pattern!

Three of my most important focus elements of design as an artist are: Pattern, Color and Effects of Light.

So this exhibit will be wonderfully exciting to see, plus I am a history lover and these weavings of the Navaho are straight out of the  American West frontier days before some say that era ended.

Vertical Town with Ladder, working title, Karen Gillis Taylor, acrylic, 12 x 24", detail

Vertical Town with Ladders, working title, Karen Gillis Taylor, acrylic, 12 x 24″, detail

I just realized I haven’t ever shown the full painting seen here I’m giving a working title, “Vertical Town with Ladders,” although I have shown pieces of it in my blog here and there. Anyway, this “piece” of the painting shows how the ladder and roof patterns brought life to the image for me. Pattern makes art exciting. It is found all over nature, which is why we respond to pattern in any images we see, distilled as they are in weavings or paintings.

Abiquiu, watercolor from my sketchbook, KGT

Abiquiu, watercolor from my sketchbook, KGT

I was looking around in my archives for a photo from nature to illustrate the design element of Pattern again, and then I remembered this sketch made during a trip to New Mexico on a warm sunny day. Geological patterns are often simply layers of rock. Strips upon strips of varied colors and values. Now the quilters are thinking, STRIP piecing! That is important to the making of beautiful quilts, and so the love of pattern goes on.

"Dashes" quilt, Ellie Brown

“Dashes” quilt, Ellie Brown

I knew the McCall’s Quilting resources would have a good quilt pattern showing the striated patterns found in nature, and Ellie Brown’s “Dashes” hit the perfect note for me. After pattern, color and texture begin to add to the artistic mix for more complexity. Starting with a great basic pattern in nature and design make the artist’s job easier and more exciting after that.

"Citrona", rough start, painting, July 2012, KGT

“Citrona”, rough start, painting, July 2012, KGT

This last image shows the current painting I’m working on, very rough, but moving along. There are 2 main pattern themes as elements here. Can you identify them?

Give it a try, it’s not a test, just a matter of opinion in a way!

Thanks,

Karen

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Pattern in Art is something people need and love!”

  1. Randy Keenan Says:

    gosh I love your work. The “ladder” painting is fabulous. It is so abstract. Yes – you surely do know how to work with color,pattern, and light! Keep it up, I enjoy receiving you blog! Randy

    Like

  2. dweinberg415 Says:

    Agreed! It’s sometimes hard to use patterns effectively and not overwhelm the work– but these are good examples of ones that do work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

