A painting evolves: An abstract Niwot landscape is finished

Niwot view of the St. Vrain Valley, 24 x 30", acrylic, Karen Gillis Taylor

Niwot View of the St. Vrain Valley, 24 x 30″, acrylic, Karen Gillis Taylor – (click images to enlarge)

This painting is my contribution to an annual town art show taking place next month. My March 11th post showed stages of progress, and I just submitted my entry of the final paintng. I hope the locals will turn out for the exhibit, stay tuned!

Niwot View, detail

Niwot View, detail 1

The use of rich color is an emotional expression in response to the vast beauty of a country where blue sky dominates. Warm colors create needed balance in the whole.

Niwot View, detail 2

Niwot View, detail 2

Abstract renderings allow me the chance to say more intimate things about this place. If I took a realistic approach it would be impossible to portray the huge view with due justice.

Niwot View, detail

Niwot View, detail 3

A path splits into two roads. The smaller road leads down to a secretive place before meeting the valley in the distance in a way we cannot see, but can only imagine or trust. Landscapes and cityscapes are as much about the unseen as the seen.

Isn’t this true about life, and faith? If we could not believe in things unseen, we would have no faith at all. That would be a dreary existence.

I have seen this view in many seasons, beautiful and rather drab. I’m choosing beauty today. Artists do have many choices. When you come to a crossroads in your own work, how do you decide which way to go?

“…Two roads diverged in a wood, and I,
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference”

.-Robert Frost

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

