Photography: The old and the new

The flag barn off Hwy 52, Boulder County, Colorado

The flag barn off Hwy 52, Boulder County, Colorado

I’m glad I could take this photo the year before the owners gave the barn a complete renovation, with a new roof and fresh paint. (It really helps to take a camera with you on a bicycle ride in the early morning.) The owners’ efforts will help preserve this landmark, but there is something about the old and weathered boards that told a story.

Bessie, our old black lab, before she passed away

Bessie, our old black lab, before she passed away

Bessie and I used to climb this hill not far from the barn. She was a sweet old girl, and I’m glad I made this print about a year before she died and framed it as a gift for my husband. Bessie was “his dog.”

2nd Avenue Businesses, Niwot, Colorado

2nd Avenue Businesses, Niwot, Colorado

I’m not sure why this makes me smile whenever I walk past these two stores. Somehow the old and the new seem to coexist here in Niwot.

Oil Lamp with Mantis, KGT

Oil Lamp with Mantis, KGT

As long as we’re smiling, putting objects together in a photo composition is sometimes entertaining for me in a weird way. I bought this old oil lamp at an antique store up near Granby because I loved the color and patina. Two metal objects, similar greens… is the mantis is trying to communicate?

Pretty sure the old oil lamp will find its way into a painting. I don’t know about the mantis, though you never know! Hey, do you have a caption for this photo? let’s play…

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

