A nostalgic memory of the Jean Cocteau movie theater in Santa Fe

A Room With a View movie photo

A Room With a View movie photo

My husband and I had a wonderful date at this theater the year before we were married in 1986. The film we saw was “A Room With a View”. We had never been to a small, intimate theater setting and the desserts and coffee offerings were very original to the experience. The staff was hip and friendly. Years later, we thought it would be wonderful if our small town outside of Boulder could support a similar movie venue. I would love to see our towns support these intimate movie theaters again. Santa Fe would be the perfect city to bring back such a theater as the Jean Cocteau. I would travel down from Boulder to be the first in the seats.

Jean Cocteau Theater, Santa Fe, New Mexico, Montezuma Street

Jean Cocteau Theater, Santa Fe, New Mexico, Montezuma Street

The year I lived in Santa Fe was one of the best years of my life. I supported myself with freelance graphic design work from clients in Santa Fe and Colorado. My free time was devoted to becoming a better painter. There was plenty of inspiration in the fine arts scene.

I began to return to Santa Fe nearly every year after 1986. This was my new hometown, my new state. It was so much about the environment, the sky and the light in the landscape. Northern New Mexico is my favored place for inspiration, all about the countryside. And then there is the Santa Fe scene, the culture, the history, the food and the people. I love it all. Rob later discovered Santa Fe for  photo workshops. Visiting my friend Judy on Canyon Road is a treat. She is a dear person, and a Santa Fe gem.

Judy's Courtyard, oil, Karen Gillis Taylor

Judy’s Courtyard, oil, Karen Gillis Taylor

Friend Judy with her bike, Cathedral background, Santa Fe

Friend Judy with her bike, Cathedral background, Santa Fe

My favorite novel about Santa Fe is “Death Comes for the Archbishop” by Willa Cather. I  treasure the history and the culture of places. That’s why I loved “A Room With a View”, which called up many references to Italy and England in an era from the past. Of course, the characters and dialogue in the movie were all priceless. (Daniel Day Lewis, who just won the Oscar for his portrayal of Lincoln, played the uppity Cecil, engaged to Lucy Honeychurch.)

I am happy that Rob and I had good memories of Santa Fe in our early “courtship” days. You never know, we may end up there again soon.

Karen and Rob at Treppeda's Italian restaurant, Niwot

Karen and Rob at Treppeda’s Italian restaurant, Niwot

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “A nostalgic memory of the Jean Cocteau movie theater in Santa Fe”

  1. Judy Says:

    Oh Karen, what sweet memories! The casita is available through May 22, time to come back and check things out.
    Our quaint ville is quite sophisticated with megaplexes, big boxes, international galleries.But we could spend time in the natural places that haven’t changed…gardens on Canyon Rd., The El Zaguan, La Querencia, and mine..photo to follow.
    Love your Blog and your new paintings
    XO Judy

    Like

  2. Leslie Ann Clark Says:

    I loved your time in Santa Fe too. I missed you so much, but I imagined your journey through our communication. I could see you riding your bike…And painting… It kept my own creativity alive to see yours growing. Art is also in our thoughts. Have you ever painted in your dreams , only to awaken thinking you actually did it?

    Like

  3. karen Says:

    The only art work I have done in dreams is to work on painting ideas in a half awake/sleep state. It seems crazy, but I am working on paintings in my sleep, you could say. A note pad by the bed is a good idea, so as not to forget an idea you think might be important!

    Like

Leave a Reply

