Managing art projects in real life… how do you do it?

Niwot Landscape painting nearly done, cropped detail upper part of painting, acrylic, Karen Gillis Taylor

Niwot Landscape painting nearly done, cropped detail upper part of painting, acrylic, Karen Gillis Taylor

Project One: finish Niwot Landscape painting for April deadline. Juried show, called Why Not Niwot Competition. 

(Don’t forget application and submission materials. Almost done! Premature sigh of relief….)

Prepping the violin with gesso, to paint for the DYAO fundraiser project due April.

Prepping the violin with gesso, to paint for the DYAO fundraiser project, also due this April.

Moonville, acrylic painting, detail, Karen Gillis Taylor

Moonville, acrylic painting, detail, Karen Gillis Taylor

Project Two: Paint my violin for the Denver Young artists Org. fund-raiser, deadline April. I’m leaning towards this color palette from my earlier “Moonville” painting. It seems “simpatico” with the violin instrument always seen in warm reddish browns and blacks. If I don’t use this image idea for the violin, I’m thinking it will be a great candidate for an art quilt, note to self.

(…note: After I wrote this blog draft I created my color sketch for the violin, second premature sigh of relief!)

Project Three: Decide what’s next on the easel.

I have a new goal. Complete 12 paintings, show-ready, by September. Two are finished. (Not including this landscape shown here.) Can I paint 2 paintings a month? I think I can, I have the color sketches already done. Now I need to decide how to work them into a theme, a series, so they will make sense for a show. That will be Project Three tonight, make the decision!

Life is full of projects like “paint two new paintings a month”, for show. Never mind I don’t have a venue set up yet for the show. Georgia O’Keefe said a painter should always have enough paintings done and ready to make the next show. I concur! 

How can I carve out a small part of my day for art time? Given my current day job work, I may not have more than an hour or two at night for art work except on weekends. I need a journal or calendar now, for checking off days for art and exercise, while I’m at it.  A real printed calendar works better for me than one on the computer. It’s that visual thing, I have to see it on a wall in the kitchen or by my computer in the studio. I’ll set my goal and see how I can break the sessions up into manageable pieces day by day… sounds like a plan.

I met 2 goals today. Check off on the calendar. The real calendar, as soon as I find one! Feels good.

(I know, I published two of my own ShimmerTown art calendars for 2011 and 2012, can I not find a simple wall calendar, for my own use? too funny…)

What are you working on, art or quilter friend? Something fun or inspiring, I hope!

Karen

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Managing art projects in real life… how do you do it?”

  1. segmation Says:

    What a nice use of the colors from the color wheel!

    Like

  2. karen Says:

    Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

