A painting evolves: An abstract Niwot landscape

Grayscale value sketch for Niwot abstract landscape

Grayscale value sketch for Niwot abstract landscape

Time to check in with the progress of a new painting, starting with my post of February 28th, 2013. It’s an interpretation of a pencil sketch, changed and enhanced in photoshop for a new, bolder effect I like.

Here’s the basic drawing quickly sketched onto the canvas, with my color plan taped to the easel underneath for reference.

Line drawing on yellow tinted canvas

Line drawing on yellow tinted canvas

Next step, adding values in blue and black.
Next step, adding values in blue and black.

I added my darkest darks first in black and dark blue, then lighter blues begin to fill in the shapes.

Color coming in...

Color coming in…

My next session begins with adding color from my planned palette, sticking with my basic value sketch for the most part. Now I’m getting really excited with what is happening here. Taking photos along the way will help me to remember why I like certain stages of the painting in case I want to retain something I might cover over in a fit of painting fervor! It happens!

Adding some of the lightest lights begins

Adding some of the lightest lights begins

The sky and far distant mountain colors begin to take shape. This is abstract realism  at this point because of the way our mountains are often lighter in value if farther away.

Background hills developing

Background hills developing

Warmer colors coming in as we get closer to the middle ground of the painting.

Middle ground trees and foreground forms develop now.

Middle ground trees and foreground forms develop now.

My paint layers are getting thicker and more opaque. Bits of rosy magenta from the palette plans enter, I will need their presence to be included in the whole, even though they are accent colors. I’m crazy about the light shapes of yellow and yellow orange in the far fields and closer trees. Keep those, don’t mess them up, I tell myself.

As I’m working tonight my Dad and brother call. Dad has recently been living in a nursing home, with health challenges that came on around last Christmas time.  They wanted to tell me to turn on Andre Bottecelli’s performance in Portofino, Italy on PBS, because the lovely evening concert venue reminded Dad of my Old City painting at night with the town square all lit up.

Old Country painting detail, Karen Gillis Taylor

Old Country painting detail, Karen Gillis Taylor

Dad is one of my biggest advocates. He’s the one who helped make my early dream of visiting Europe in college years come true, and that’s how I found my path to painting, so I owe so much to him and mom.  I can’t be more thankful to have someone always supporting me on such a personal level. Thanks Dad. And thanks Bro Bob too.

I’ll for sure post the final painting, it’s getting close and my deadline is early April. It’s not so bad that we have to juggle many projects and have to step away from one like this and come back later. “Fresh eyes” is a good working perspective.

Feel free to contribute a comment or two, I always like to know you are following along with me. Thanks!

-Karen

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “A painting evolves: An abstract Niwot landscape”

  1. Judy Says:

    Love the new painting, how fun to watch it progress along with you…so much planning goes into it, I thought painting was all spontaneous! Too late for me, so much to learn.
    I could hear the music in the night village painting…magnificent.
    Gratefullness and love show through in your work, as in your life…
    An admirerir ! XO, Judy

    Like

    • karen Says:

      Judy, thanks so much for your thoughtful comments. It means a lot to me. I like that painting has elements of both planning and spontaneity. It needs both! For me at least. Lovely thoughts from you, thanks!

      Like

  2. meta Says:

    Nice to see your work in progress!

    Like

  3. Leslie Ann Clark Says:

    As always, I love to see your progression through paint! Love to see the transformation! You continue to inspire me!

    Like

Leave a Reply

