The real Niwot palette for upcoming painting… it’s a mixing process

The paints mixed and working into the new painting

The paints mixed and working into the new painting

The new Niwot landscape painting is well underway. Here is the 8 x 10″ color palette I have been creating as I work on the big painting I wrote about for the February 28 blog. (My preliminary one was created in Photoshop.) It’s really helpful to test the colors out before I put to the big canvas. I’ve been seeing where some colors tend to dominate and not look good that way, so I add other colors beside them to fix the balance problem. And it goes on and on. Then I put the same colors straight to the painting.

It’s like creating 2 paintings at the same time, in some ways.

Have to admit, I like the palette paintings I make, almost treat them like any other work of art I create. They teach me as I go. The big painting benefits from the little one.

Hmmm. Sounds like another life lesson in there somewhere…

The little ones teach us?

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

