A new Niwot color palette for an abstract painting direction: Be brave… Spring is on the way!

color palette for upcoming painting, March 2013

color palette for upcoming painting, March 2013

There’s an annual Niwot town art show coming up, and I’m doing my best to participate again this year in time. It’s a small community, but I feel I should support the art effort here once again. Same theme, “What is unique about Niwot?” I’m plunging in with a more abstract direction this year. This is my beginning color plan. Who knows if I will stick to it, but I’m a believer that I have to start somewhere and staring at a blank white canvas with a clean palette and no plan before me is not my idea of a good start! This one gets my creative juices flowing. (I made it with Photoshop.)

Sketch for abstract landscape, Niwot view of the St. Vrain Valley

Sketch for abstract landscape, Niwot view of the St. Vrain Valley

I posted a more traditional drawing of this view awhile back in this blog. But I’m going bolder now. This sketch is still pretty detailed, I might simplify, but at least I’ve got the idea flowing.

Chief Niwot Encampment at the Creek, detail, acrylic, Karen Gillis Taylor, 2012

Chief Niwot Encampment at the Creek, detail, acrylic, Karen Gillis Taylor, 2012

This is a detail from last year’s very traditional painting about why Niwot is unique. A traditional subject from history seemed to require a similar rendering. I love this painting. And did I ever learn a lot while painting it!

Original sketch of the view from Skyland, straight from the sketchbook.

Original sketch of the view from Skyland, straight from the sketchbook.

Remember this drawing I posted recently? That was my starting point. Can I break away from the traditional look for the new painting? Hope so! That’s my plan, so stay tuned to see if it works out.

Starting already tonight. Canvas primed with pale gold, Bill Evans jazz (‘Round Midnight) playing for tunes. Sure hope I don’t work ’til ’round midnight though! I have to get up early.

Cheers,

Karen

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “A new Niwot color palette for an abstract painting direction: Be brave… Spring is on the way!”

  1. Leslie Ann Clark Says:

    Ooooh… can’t wait to see this one done!

    Like

    • karen Says:

      Me too! I’m just finishing up after working 2 hours after this post. I’m excited, all the values and base colors are working better than I’d hoped!

      Like

  2. Brenda Osborne Says:

    Looking forward to seeing the new painting. I like the softness of the colors you have chosen.

    Like

  3. becky Says:

    let us see where you are going with these. I looked up your town and it looks like the “ideal” place to live…..lots of art, too!
    thanks for sharing your art. Becky

    Like

Leave a Reply

