A fun and easy art quilt is inspired by a favorite painting

Petal Power art quilt, approx. 12 x 15″, by Karen Gillis Taylor

I’ve really been enjoying making these small art quilts. This one came about from a desire to create one that would be easy enough for a novice to make. I’m hoping to make the pattern available soon. Wouldn’t it be fun to see a variety of people making this, using their own colors?

Flower 1, acrylic on board, 9 x 12″, by Karen Gillis Taylor

You can see how closely I followed the inspiration painting design. First I found my fabrics, then made a simple drawing to use for making templates.

Layering over a 3 piece background is so similar to my painting process!

There’s a lot of trial and error once the basic shapes are in place with fusible web. I added new colors and falling petal shapes to finish off the composition.

detail of hand quilting

I finally added some hand quilting to the piece as needed to tame the puckers and create texture. A lively aqua binding finished things off.

This project was so much fun, I just have to do another!

Tags: , , ,

9 Responses to “A fun and easy art quilt is inspired by a favorite painting”

  1. Ruth J. Kary & John W. Baar Says:

    Hi Karen,

    Thanks for showing your steps in making an art quilt from one of your paintings. A quilt shop went out of business last spring here in Detroit Lakes, MN and I purchased quite a bit of fabric to make these types of quilts from my own original designs, as well as some of the standard quilts from squares, etc. for bedding, etc.

    I’ve enjoyed following your paintings. I used to live in Colorado – Denver and north of Silt which is west of Glenwood Springs about 20 miles.

    Ruth J. Kary, Photographer & Illustrator

    _____

    From: Hue Bliss: Color & Art notes by Karen Gillis Taylor [mailto:comment-reply@wordpress.com] Sent: Tuesday, September 04, 2012 3:02 PM To: rjkary@rof.net Subject: [New post] A fun and easy art quilt is inspired by a favorite painting

    karen posted: ” Petal Power art quilt, approx. 12 x 15″, by Karen Gillis Taylor I’ve really been enjoying making these small art quilts. This one came about from a desire to create one that would b”

    Like

    • karen Says:

      Hi Ruth,
      I hope you do try it, it’s not as daunting as making a large quilt and so much fun to combine colors from your stash, maybe add a few new ones you can buy online, etc. With your background in photo and illustration you probably could make something amazing!
      I love the western slope area of Colo. Miss it at all?

      Like

  2. sandy Says:

    Beautiful! One of these days, I am going to try this. You may see my attempt, depending on how it turns out.

    Like

  3. karen Says:

    Hey Sandy, I lost your recent comment, but do try this! Thanks for following!

    Like

  4. gonerustic Says:

    Great idea – love your fabric interpretation of the original painting! =D

    Like

  5. Jean-Paul Says:

    like a lot 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

