UFO’s in painting: Take photographs to help you rescue them

Flower painting, unfinished, acrylic, 24 x 30, kg taylor

For quilters, the infamous term “UFO” means an unfinished object, (I do own a few of those fabric creations!) and painters have them too, canvas faced to the studio wall like a child being punished in the olden days. This painting of mine started out great guns, and the more I worked on it the less confident I felt. Maybe I lost the original intent, or became confused since it might have been so different from other paintings I had going at the time.

I put it away and took it back out for more painting at least three times. To date, this painting looks very different over there in the studio corner, with a lot of white paint encrusting the surface. Not happy with that, now that I see this earlier version. The good news is, I’m back in self-critiquing mode which tells me this earlier version was not all that bad. It’s a good thing I took a photo.

There needs to be a third final version that somehow feels right. I’ve crossed over from an ambivalent attitude about this guy to rescue mode. It deserves a final session and I think something good will happen in the end. Eternal optimism wins the day. Or days… later.

Any advice on this? It needs more blue?

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “UFO’s in painting: Take photographs to help you rescue them”

  1. sandy Says:

    UFO’s are common in quilting, too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

