Children’s illustrators give the gift of imagination

"How the Camel Got His Hump", Illustrated by Nicolas, Just So Stories, Doubleday & CO. 1952, illustration copyright.

I read this book time and again as a kid. The illustrations were like nothing I’d ever seen, but then so was the originality of the stories by Rudyard Kipling. “Is that really how a camel got his hump?” I asked myself. Of course I knew it was a made-up story, but it was WONderful!

Cover, Just So Stories

It didn’t matter to me, as a kid, that I knew our picture books were not the same as real life. It was better than real life. It still is!

These wonderful, imagined images belong to any child that reads the book. They introduce new scenes, situations, and a world discovered every time the page is turned. This is a gift we can treasure, something that can impact a life. Many artists like me will tell you the same.

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Children’s illustrators give the gift of imagination”

  1. Leslie Ann Clark Says:

    I loved that book! Stared at those pictures over and over again!

    Like

  2. Dawn Hartigan Says:

    I am still collecting beautiful children’s book even though my kids are grown. I love Eduond Dulac, NC.Wyeth and others.

    Like

Leave a Reply

