A wildflower painting and layering with acrylics

Rocky Mountain LIly, 9 x 12", acrylic on board, Karen Gillis Taylor, 2012

Rocky Mountain Lily, detail

John Steinbeck wrote, “Change comes like a little wind that ruffles the curtains at dawn, and it comes like a stealthy perfume of wildflowers hidden in the grass.”

I’m changing up my painting life and returning to nature’s themes of landscapes and growing things. Tiny wildflowers grow in our outback on the virgin prairie was too rocky and steep for farmers to transform. These small blooms seem precious, and perfect subjects to paint.

I tried glazing medium for my first layer, since I ran out of flow improver. My hope for the first layer is to preserve transparency and brilliance. The glazing medium is thicker, and allows me to make interesting textures by incising into the paint with anything hard that makes a mark. I used both a palette knife and some brushes for variety of strokes.

Subsequent layers made for an opaque result in the end, but I’m okay with that in this case. I like the expressiveness of thick paint.

When I don’t have a personal photo reference I turn to field guides like the Audubon Society Nature Guides. They have a wealth of information about what lives and grows in our countryside.

Nature is all about constant change. Its forces make me feel humbled and very small sometimes. It’s my main inspiration fueling the desire to paint, and I feel blessed to have this venue to forward my ideas about beauty and joy.

“As for us, our life is like grass. We grow and flourish like a wild flower…” Psalms 103: 15

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “A wildflower painting and layering with acrylics”

  1. Leslie Ann Clark Says:

    I love this! First, all the blue makes me smile. The strokes remind me of Henry Isaacs. Very cool!!

    Like

  2. karenhoppes Says:

    Love the painting.

    Like

  3. karen Says:

    Thanks Karen and Les! I have the tweaking stage to do, but I like posting sometimes before they are totally finished to get a little feedback.

    Like

Leave a Reply

