Oscar Night! You too can be a fashion designer

Anyone up for sketching dresses during the Oscars tonight?

Time to break out the sketch book and do some doodling tonight during the Academy Awards show. Maybe I’ll get inspired by seeing all those movie clips of films I haven’t yet seen!

I watched an old movie yesterday while working in the studio, called The House on Telegraph Hill. The actress wore the most amazing floating gown, and I found out the costume designer was Renie Conley. Her resume´places her in the leagues of Hollywood designers like Edith Head. What a lovely career she must have enjoyed. She won an Oscar for her work creating costumes for Liz Taylor in Cleopatra.

Renie, fashion designer, set designer and sketch artist for Paramount

Ginger Rogers dancing away in pretty gown

My mom gave me a love of Hollywood musicals and as a child I drew pretty dresses and hairdos along with tons of other little girls back in the day. Such was my fashion designing career, age 9-11. It was a good life.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

