Captured by Color

"I found I could say things with color and shapes that I couldn't say any other way – things I had no words for. " (Georgia O'Keeffe)

Painting is a mysterious process, especially when I draw a simple little 2 x 3” pencil sketch and a few months or weeks later it is a 30 x 40” painting of a mysterious place, a town with alley ways that convince me there is something else to be seen just beyond that lamp light.

"The Little Spruce", cropped from acrylic painting 12 x 24"

Once I find a particular color palette it sometimes won’t let me go, and I don’t always know why. I do believe that we create because something in our soul wants us to express what we cannot quite say any other way.

"Black Mesa Landscape" by Georgia O'Keefe

I am also captivated by the Northern New Mexico landscape, have been for over 25 years. Like O’Keefe, I return again and again, maybe some day to stay for longer than a year. Places captivate me, and it’s partly because the color in NM is magical. O’Keefe’s deep rich blues and blacks seem to beckon a person into the painting. Her molding of forms remind me a little of Thomas Hart Benton’s way of shading forms.

I’m taking a break from painting for the holidays and have a quilting project to keep me happy in the evenings when I feel like sewing. Not surprisingly, this quilt I began in fall is in the same color palette I’m returning to so often lately. I hope it is finished before Spring, when I have a feeling I’ll be obsessed with a new palette.

Partial plan, quilt blocks sewn, borders explored now in Photoshop

I’ve discovered that I’m not the only painter out there that also likes fabric and quilting projects. One of the editors hinted of a dual personality situation here… not SO! Cheryl Phelps once told me at an art licensing workshop that artists get to create in many ways and media, and it’s actually a good thing. Thanks Cheryl. We like that.

One Response to “Captured by Color”

  1. Leslie Ann Clark Says:

    Love that Cheryl!~ It seems to me that artists do all sorts of things to express themselves. I once had a dream I was painting. It was so real I thought I actually DID it! So you see, an artist can even do their work when they sleep!! Paint on! with paints or fabrics or even flowers in the summer!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

