My 2012 City Dreams Wall Calendar is out!

Imagination is the theme this year and I loved finding and even writing a couple of the quotes for each month’s display.

“The world of reality has its limits; the world of imagination is boundless.” -Jean Jacques Rousseau.

That is the quote that goes along with this painting. (It’s the cover image and also July.)

Artwork for a calendar is created a full year in advance with many publishers. So last year at this time I was working at a frenetic pace to finish the last of the 12 paintings before the holiday season. My schedule from late summer to mid December was fairly grueling since I also am currently working full time at McCall’s Quilting Magazine. Painting was done from around 7 to 11 p.m. weeknights and both Saturday and Sunday on weekends. I do believe it was worth the effort now.

The energy to paint comes when you get fully established into the painting project and it goes from there. The hardest part for me is finding the original idea (usually a small sketch) that must be translated into a larger color sketch. I need to have a “gut” response to the initial idea. “This will work!” Thoughts then trigger new thoughts that fall into the next like dominoes.

“Rivertown” is my 48 x 48″ painting that is the cover image for my second calendar (published by TFC.)

You can find this calendar online at Amazon and from other perveyors.

Tags: ,

7 Responses to “My 2012 City Dreams Wall Calendar is out!”

  1. Michael Says:

    I do love the depth and open richness of your colors Karen. As a city dweller myself, I know you could love / be inspired by some Arabian, Indian, Pakistani, and Chinese cityscapes, and for sure they in turn would benefit by your keen eye for lay out / color.

    Like

    • karen Says:

      I’m sure you’re right Michael! I’ve seen some amazing photos of the Chinese cities. Lots of inspiration to be found. Thanks for your nice comments!

      Like

  2. Leslie Ann Clark Says:

    Oh how I would love to live here! Karen, your colors are so vibrant. The city simply glows!! I love my new calendar too!

    Like

  3. Loraine Says:

    I enjoyed your sharings and color, what refreshing shapes and use of color! Keep going now in 2012, and I think imagination is a venue to freedom and promise.

    Like

  4. Deb Hill Says:

    Is there going to be a 2013 calendar?

    Like

Leave a Reply

