Pieces of Paintings

A section of the 12 x 12" painting "Park Avenue" by Karen Gillis Taylor, 2011

Have you ever had a hard time critiquing your own work? I’ve been aiming to do some self-critiquing since January and here it is October! So I’ve decided to look at sections of some of my favorite paintings and see what I like about them.

Though unsatisfied with some of our creations, certain places in a piece just seem to work. I can see two future painting ideas in this busy little slice. Do you see what I’m seeing? Starting points to build upon. Now I’m excited to get these on really big canvases and see how they grow and change!

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Pieces of Paintings”

  1. Doreen Flanagan Says:

    I have never been able to crit my own work, karen. I always ask artist friends whose work and critical suggestions I would respect. Friends who just say “Oh, I like that” are not what I want but I respect their kindness, anyway. Best wishes

    Like

    • karen Says:

      I have my artist sister and other online art buddies who are helpful. If I wait a good six months or more of not seeing a painting I am able to see it more objectively, but fresh eyes coming from someone else are always good!

      Like

  2. Grant Says:

    Hi there,

    I really like your work and enjoy your blog. I would also like to find more people to critique with. I feel pretty isolated and shut off from the art world and sometimes I get so caught up in my head and go in circles.

    Thanks for sharing.

    G

    Like

Leave a Reply

