Acrylic Painting: Let it Drip!

If you haven’t tried painting with acrylics yet, why not give it a go? Lots of options with techniques. Grab a spray bottle of water and a rag or two.

No fumes. Layers are the way to go. This painting is from a series of pear studies I made using different techniques and painting styles.

Tags: ,

10 Responses to “Acrylic Painting: Let it Drip!”

  1. Doreen Flanagan Says:

    I love it, Karen. I have done some acrylic painting but not using a spray bottle and a rag, and i love the sponteneous abstract look you have given it. Thanks for the inspiration! Love and blessings from Doreen

    Like

    • karen Says:

      Thanks Doreen! Acrylics are so versatile. Not giving up oils just yet, but I’m definitely still sticking with acrylics for awhile and see how it plays out!

      Like

  2. Leslie Ann Clark Says:

    I love this painting! I love the intensity of it and the vibrant color combinations. Keep on painting sister!!!

    Like

  3. Joan Waites Says:

    Beautiful ,as always, Karen! Think this would be fun to try with my students! Thanks for sharing the technique.

    Joan

    Like

  4. Virla Harrell Says:

    Karen, I love your pear and the brilliance. Acrylics feel so foreign to me. I guess I just don’t know how to use them — period. I love your freedom with them. Would love to see your other pears or whatever. Love, Virla

    Like

    • karen Says:

      Virla, it did take a while to get used to acrylics. I like layering them and use something called Flow Improver which has made a difference. You can also mix them with gels to get a thicker paint to apply with a palette knife if you like. I feel like I’ve only scratched the surface with using these!

      Like

  5. sarah Schultz Says:

    After the earthquake today I think I will give acrylics a go tomorrow.!
    Sounds relaxing ….

    I have a few tubes of it,. but mainly work in h2o color.
    Love your pear.. Sarah

    Like

    • karen Says:

      If you are in the East, I hope you’ll be safe from Hurricane Irene as well, Sarah!
      One nice thing about acrylics, they can be transparent like WColors, yet opaque so you can paint right over an area if you need to.
      Take care,
      Karen

      Like

Leave a Reply

