What color is a shadow?

"Winter Village", detail, acrylic painting by KG Taylor

Nature is an unrivaled teacher for the painter or art quilt maker. There is a difference between what we are seeing and what our logical mind thinks we see.

Beginning painters (I was one!) might think that shadows are black or dark gray. Almost never the case!

Here are five images, one being a photo I made from the previous post. How many colors can you detect in the shadows you see in all of them?

"The Magpie" by Claude Monet

"The Old City", detail, oil on canvas by KG Taylor

"Sunny Morning Sunflower", oil on canvas by KG Taylor

Garden Photo from previous post, Columbine

2 Responses to “What color is a shadow?”

  1. Doreen Flanagan Says:

    Thanks Karen. You have certainly hit my weakest spot . I have plenty of art books and still one does not take the time to sit and study quietly and I still need to take more photographs. I think I can work out of my head and I only give myself problems. Take care. With blessings, Doreen

    Like

Leave a Reply

