Park Avenue Painting and a Car

"Park Avenue", 12 x 12" acrylic on panel, 350.00, K Gillis Taylor

This is my new favorite painting. I like the dreaminess of the trees in contrast with the dark geometric shapes of the buildings. And the blue tree at the end of the street. I would live in this town.

I showed the painting to my dad, and he said, “the street is empty, you need to put a car on the street.” He was right. I like advice from my family, it’s usually good. So I put in a couple of cars, and here’s the red car in the detail.

Details can make a very big difference. Sometimes you work on a project for a good while and you are “too close” to it. A good fresh pair of eyes and my invitation to go ahead and comment is often really valuable to me. I’ve seen it happen with both of my daughters, who have a good eye, and also my sister Les, another artist. Now my father is chiming in and likes when I bring him paintings to review.

Dad’s an engineer, and good at visualizing. He likes seeing depth in these paintings, which are mostly imagined, but have their own perspective of sorts. Moral to my story: Listen to dad.

Do you have people you can talk to about your art? Are you one of the critique people? I appreciate those about 99 per cent of the time!

6 Responses to “Park Avenue Painting and a Car”

  1. Leslie Clark Says:

    how about a milk truck? ha! love it! I would like to live there too!

    Like

  2. Sarah Schultz Says:

    Your paintings are wonderful and enchanting !
    I feel so relaxed just looking at them.
    The nighttime scenes with the streetlights and stars
    are like reading a book .In these days and times
    we need more of these type paintings to give comfort,
    giving a feeling all is right in the world tonight.

    Like

  3. Sharyn Says:

    This is my favorite! Love it for the feeling of peace in the middle of the city. It’s wonderful, Karen. If I had the $$ I would buy it in a heartbeat.

    Like

  4. terri murphy Says:

    Your paintings are enchanting…magical. People look where you want them to look, feel what you want them to feel. Thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

