Jazz Town Painting

I painted this for my brother Bob Gillis who I’m proud to say is a world class musician in Denver. How many artists dedicate their entire lives to their craft and innovate constantly? His CD called “Hats” received the Best of Westword award the year it came out. (You see my tribute to Hats in the image.)

Bob is one of the most inspiring people I know. When I hear his music, especially certain pieces, I  picture myself floating over a city, seeing all the lights and movement below. Someday I will have to paint that perspective, one that looks down more, as if I have wings to hold me suspended as I paint. That would be a cool trick!

I decided to make this image available as a print in my Shimmertown Etsy shop. Just click on the Blogroll link to visit.

3 Responses to “Jazz Town Painting”

  1. Leslie Ann Clark Says:

    AND, I LOVE this painting!!

    Like

  2. pauline leger Says:

    hi Karen,

    I’m a graphic designer/part time teacher/painter who lives in a coastal town in the province of New Brunswick (in Canada) and i just HAD to tell you how much i love your city scapes. As much as i appreciate living near the ocean, your cityscapes make me wanna dive right in there. :o) Your work is lovely… i also love your heart series. Very nice. Thank you for sharing.
    Pauline

    Like

    • karen Says:

      Hi Pauline,
      Thanks so much for your comments! It must be lovely to live by the ocean, as we are land locked in Colorado. I’ll be posting soon about Charles Sovek, one of my favorite painters and teachers who lived in the East Coast. (http://www.sovek.com/)
      I was enrolled in his workshop when he sadly passed away unexpectedly. You might like to check out his work!

      Like

Leave a Reply

